Stairlift Reviews

04-22-2019 Solid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid Star 5
Name:
Rebecca Carlin
Do you recommend Handicare:
Yes

Strong points:

As I had to have foot surgery and I was non-weight bearing, I pulled my shoulders out from trying to get up and down the steps. I got the straight Handicare stairlift for the back stairs and the installers were in and out without a problem. This stairlift keeps me from being confined to the upstairs and if I had a problem, I would feel very free to call the people who sold it to me and installed it for me.

04-13-2019 Solid StarSolid StarSolid StarEmpty StarEmpty Star 3
Name:
Reta Long
Do you recommend Handicare:
Yes

Strong points:

A relative of mine thought I should get a stairlift although I feel that I do not really need it. The Handicare stairlift’s overall quality is all right. I do not have any problem going up and down the steps but I would just rather do it myself.

11-30-2018 Solid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid StarEmpty Star 4
Name:
Anna Beckley
Do you recommend Handicare:
Yes

Strong points:

My husband’s handicapped so I got a Handicare stairlift. Other stairlifts has weight limitations. They didn’t go as high as Handicare. The sales visit from their dealer was fine. It’s just that they sent somebody that probably wasn’t trained enough to install one. They folded the rail at the edge of my stuff and made a dent the metal stripping that I had across my tile. They made a dent in there from falling. They need to watch who’s selling their product because I wasn’t real happy about that either. It could give them a bad name because of the experience. It took me close to a year to get it running, and then I’ve had it approximately four years. But when I was in need of battery, I went to contact them and they were out of business. They put me in contact to one of their authorized repair people, and that’s where I got my battery.They contracted somebody the third visit. The one guy said, the way they had the wires, he wondered it didn’t catch something on fire, which didn’t make me very happy. It was just a fiasco, and they would come back and take a look at it and wouldn’t have any available parts, so they had to order it. It would be like a month at a time between each visit. But I didn’t have to pay anything because it was covered. If I have any more other issues, I will reach out to them because they are authorized by the Handicare to work on these. The stairlift appears to be pretty well made and I don’t have any issues on it.

11-30-2018 Solid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid Star 5
Name:
Stan Thompson
Do you recommend Handicare:
Yes

Strong points:

I got Handicare Stairlift for my aging mother. They just seem to be the closest to me and the most likeable. The installation team was fabulous. So I’m also very impressed with the stairlift. It has made my mother’s life better by 100%.

08-25-2018 Solid StarSolid StarSolid StarEmpty StarEmpty Star 3
Name:
Kristy Mather
Do you recommend Handicare:
Yes

Strong points:

I had to have a stairlift because I have a business in my lower storey and I have to get up and down on steps. I chose Handicare because the hospital where I called to ask told me that that’s where they have gotten theirs. We have a 90 degree turn in our house and it was gonna cost quite a bit more to have the kind that went around the curve. So, we opted to buy two instead. Handicare was very professional but I’m disappointed with the stairlift itself. I haven’t had to use it for a while and was used very little but there is a terrible noise in it. I was afraid to use it. I called the store where I bought it from and they were only about two and a half hours away from here. But it’s been months and they have not come. The other one doesn’t make this noise but there is something about it. The guy told me on the phone, “I’m quite sure I know what it is.” I didn’t think it was a big deal to fix it but it sounded terrible. And then, there was another time when I couldn’t use it for a week which when you couldn’t walk up and down the stairs is a long time. But due to the distance, they weren’t getting up here to fix it. And then, there was another time when I had to wait quite a while and it was winter time. So, in order to get to the upper storey, I had to go outside. They said they didn’t want to make it a special trip and indicated that they didn’t handle Handicare anymore.On the other hand, the fellow who came to fix it was very professional and really good. But I didn’t felt like the service has been what it would have been having them being closer. I like to have some other support besides just me calling them but I’m afraid I am not going to have someone to help back me up. Now that I don’t need it, I wish that it’s not here because it never worked out well for it to get fixed. If I had to do this over again, I would have not bought from Handicare. I would just return it and have it taken out but I’m sure they’re gonna say, “Well, you’ve had it too long for that.”

08-25-2018 Solid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid Star 5
Name:
Joyce Mcfadden
Do you recommend Handicare:
Yes

Strong points:

I needed a stairlift because I was having back problems and trouble getting up and down the stairs. My friend bought the Handicare stairlift for me and it was installed wonderfully. It’s handy and I love it.

08-10-2018 Solid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid Star 5
Name:
Avery Wood
Do you recommend Handicare:
Yes

Strong points:

Using the Handicare stairlift has been helping and making a big difference in the life of my elder who needed a stairlift. A rep showed up and he was very nice, and he showed me the steps in getting the stairlift. We gave him the measurements of our stairs and then he ordered the unit. We got a curved stairlift from them. Then the installers came on time and they installed it, and they did a demonstration on how to use it. We’ve got wide stairs upstairs and it fits okay into the stairwell. The stairlift is expensive but its quality is good.

08-10-2018 Solid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid Star 5
Name:
Paul Laflamme
Do you recommend Handicare:
Yes

Strong points:

Handicare stairlift was expensive, but I got it on sale at 20% off so it saved me quite a lot of money. The rep went on a sales visit and did a good job personally. They told us everything we needed to know about it. The guy who installed it was very pleasant and informative, too, and he was finished in one day. The stairlift is of good quality. We’ve got one of the fold-up arms that come up. It was pretty easy to fold up myself. I got problems walking up and down the stairs so I got a stairlift, but I still go up and down the stairs myself as much as I can. I use the stairlift when it is necessary.

08-10-2018 Solid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid Star 5
Name:
Barbara Kuhns
Do you recommend Handicare:
Yes

Strong points:

I’m on oxygen, and it was hard to get up and down the stairs. I bought a straight, indoor stairlift from Handicare. They were a little cheaper than other providers. Handicare’s rep was a really nice person, very personable and nice to work with. I appreciated that she came, saw what I needed and didn’t try to sell the most expensive thing to me. The installers were super and really nice people, too. They really cared about what they were doing and they showed me how to use the stairlift. The stairlift is great. Everything folds up if somebody needs to get past it. I’ve had it since May and it has made my life a whole lot easier. Before, I just really stressed about having to go downstairs and, now, I don’t.

08-10-2018 Solid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid Star 5
Name:
Robyn Ettriers
Do you recommend Handicare:
Yes

Strong points:

My son is in a wheelchair so we decided to purchase a stairlift. Handicare Stairlifts has good reviews and they were responsive when I called them. The rep came out twice for the sales visit and he told me all my different options. He was very responsive and forthright with me about what my options were and he was thorough and upfront about what would work best and what wouldn’t. Then I made an appointment and went to the office, and he showed me all the different options. Overall, he did a good job. We had a straight stairlift installed and its quality is pretty good. How it fit into our stairwell was as good as it could be, given the space that we were working with. The stairlift was an expensive purchase and it was not covered by insurance, but it has been great and it has made it easier to get my son around. I was very pleased with our experience with Handicare Stairlifts.

08-08-2018 Solid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid Star 5
Name:
Steve Lefler
Do you recommend Handicare:
Yes

Strong points:

I’m an amputee and my one leg and my arm were giving out from going up and down the stairs of the house I had before. Then when we bought a new house, everything is on one floor, but it has a garage and a bonus room, which I made into a music room. So I had two Handicare stairlifts put in to make it easy for me to use the stairs. The sales representative was a good guy. You couldn’t get a better salesperson than him. He made a special appointment on a Saturday for us and he said he wouldn’t be comfortable selling me one until I tried it. So we tried a few of his different stairlifts. Then the technicians put the straight stairlifts in the next day. After it got finished, they showed us how it worked and explained what to do if the power went out. The very next day, one of the stairlifts got a short in it and it wouldn’t stop beeping. The guy wanted to come right then, but it was late in the evening so we told him not to. But he was here at 8 o’clock the next morning to fix it. He found out that something was pinching a wire in the chair and would cut a wire the way it was made. He said he was gonna write it up that this pair of new chairs had a flaw and he even went and fixed the one that didn’t need to be fixed, so it wouldn’t happen to it. Other than that, it’s easy for me to get in and out of the stairlift and it’s quiet. A lot of times, I’m up during late at night and my wife doesn’t even hear me when I ride that thing up the steps. I love both of my Handicare stairlifts. And I would recommend them to anybody.

08-08-2018 Solid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid StarSolid Star 5
Name:
Louise Shields
Do you recommend Handicare:
Yes

Strong points:

My husband had a stroke and we decided to go to Gatti Pharmacy in Indiana for a stairlift. A rep came down and explained all the Handicare Stairlift features. And about five days after, we have our stairlift. The workmen were here in and out in a day and they cleaned up after themselves. They were wonderful and very thoughtful. They made sure we understood every feature before they left. Our straight stairlift is nice and the cost is very reasonable. It’s a little tight, but we can get around it. We both use it every single day and we enjoy it very much.